The church isn’t a restaurant. It’s culinary school.

Love this! The Church is a culinary school where we can learn to feed others, not a restaurant that feeds us.

the gospel side

Restaurant.035Snark MeterrealMID.003

Last week’s “The church doesn’t exist to feed you” post pushed lots of people’s buttons…mainly because I put myself in the awkward position appearing to argue against the Bible. Let me morph the analogy a bit…

For most of my Christian life I disliked church. REALLY disliked it.

Not bored, as in “I would rather watch my team play.”  Not, “Oops I forgot to set my alarm.” But a tension in the neck that ruins Saturday date night when I realize that in the morning my wife expects me to get up and go to church sort of a dislike.

It wasn’t a God problem. At 18 I fell in love with Jesus. Soon after I developed a crush on the Bible. I love serving others. Most weeks I would rather do ministry than go on vacation. But church? Not so much.

I found church relentlessly reductionistic: four…

View original post 1,018 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The church isn’t a restaurant. It’s culinary school.

  1. Matt Marino says:

    Hi Whit,
    Thanks for the repblog. You have lots of thoughtful stuff on your blog. Thanks for helping me discover you!

Leave a Reply

